210. Trouble in fuzzyland.

I would like to continue with the stream of posts but something has come up that is really pushing my ability to focus and maintain composure. Its ferrets, my partner and I have a couple of ferrets. She works in a pet store, we get everything for free, it has not really been an issue. The ferrets are calm, quite quiet, well-behaved with the odd bit of mischief here and there. The problem arose when my partner arranged for us to sit a couple of ferrets for another couple for 10 days. They arrived last night and…. man these ferrets are a terror, high energy, destructive, loud, initially I assumed that they would be like our ferrets or that all ferrets where like ours but have been totally surprised by them. I am finding it hard to write and focus with the constant, banging, running, and fighting that has started. I am concerned about the noise level towards those that are below us as it has increase dramatically. All in all I am having quite a bit of reactions taking place like, frustrations, and regret. I know that they are animals and it is in their nature but it has even sparked some resentment towards my partner for agreeing to take them even though she could not have predicted this.

So what would be a solution to this? I suppose the best thing to do would be to realize the situation and stay calm, look for the things that I can do to stop the judgment towards the ferrets and my partner.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to become frustrated with the ferrets that we are sitting.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to view them as annoying.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to compare these ferrets with our own ferrets where I make a judgment towards the new ones where they are bad, and ours are good.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to overreact towards the ferrets themselves where I forget about and do not consider the expression of this type of animal which is to be all forms of mischievous and rambunctious.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to not be the best that I can be in this situation in remaining patient, and breathing,

I forgive myself for hold judgments towards the other owners of the ferrets for apparently not being able to control or discipline their ferrets, when in actuality I do not know anything about how they take care of their ferrets.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to pull out my participation in doing what I am capable to in dealing with and find solutions for the current situation with the ferrets.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to judge the nature of ferrets where when one of the new ferrets try to dominate over one of our ferrets an emotional reaction comes up where I become angry with the new ferret judge it as bad and want to punish it, without stopping to realize that perhaps this is only natural ferret behaviour and that it will take some time for the natural formation of the relations between them.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to have resentment towards my partner for essentially agreeing to take the ferrets, even though she could not have known about how it would be.

So when and as I see myself becoming frustrated towards the ferrets, I stop myself and breathe and remember that they are animals and that I cannot actually solve anything by being angry and frustrated towards them.

I commit myself to realize that they are actually animals and not humans and I should be able to understand that they are not concerned with or bound by the same understandings of what make a reasonable sound level or what constitutes acceptable.

I commit myself to realize the ferrets in particular are notoriously difficult to control and that the fault of them being loud or mischievous really has nothing to do with the ferret it is just their expression.

I commit myself to see how me hold a grudge so to speak will close me off to potential solutions to the issue where I do not want to stop and look how at what I can to possible improve the situation for everyone.

When and as I see myself viewing as one set of ferrets as being good and one set as being bad I stop myself and breathe and remember that there is always some kind of order within the design of nature and animals, even domesticated ones.

I commit myself to understand the judgement of good and bad are really only a perception that I am having about and towards the behaviour of the ferrets where good is when they are doing something that like or not doing things that I dislike, and bad is the opposite of this, and realizing that then the good/bad scenario is really only all about myself and my own personal definitions in this case.

I commit myself to realize how this particular scenario is a cool highlight of how I interact with all sorts of scenarios in my would where I place all sorts of good/bad labels all over my world.

I commit myself to stop the judgments within the good/bad dichotomy within myself.

When and as I see myself wanting to punish one of the ferrets for trying to dominate over our ferrets I stop myself and breathe and understand that this is actually how ferret develop order and form the “ferret king” of the household and that the reaction in this case is that I am associating myself with the level of my ferrets, where I want our ferrets to be the top ferrets.

I commit myself to stop placing my own person as one of the things at stake within the establishment of the ferret hierarchy within the house.

I commit myself to realize that some ferrets are just more dominant and aggressive about that then others and that just because our ferrets are not the dominant ones does not have to be taken as a personal reflection.

When and as I see myself wanting take out this frustration on my partner and towards the other owners of the other ferrets I stop myself and breathe, and realize that what is happening is that I am placing myself outside the sphere of responsibility and pointing my fingers at them rather than exploring what I am capable of doing.

I commit myself to stop the desire to take out my frustration on my partner and the other owners of the ferrets.

I commit myself to look for and explore possible solutions to the issues coming up in a practical way rather than removing my ability to contribute and blaming instead.

When and as I see myself having regret about agreeing to let the ferrets come for the two weeks and see how I want to push the blame all on and towards my partner I stop myself and breathe, realizing that this was something that I agreed to and as such is partly my responsibility as well.

I commit myself to live up to my decisions and to do the best that I can to gracefully contribute to the situation in a way that works for all.

Ok haha I will see how this works out in the coming days

Leave a Reply

